Floyd County Emergency Management Commission

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

The Office of Emergency Management is located on the First Floor of the Floyd County Courthouse. 

The Office of Emergency Management is governed by Chapter 29C State Code of Iowa and enforced by the Floyd County Emergency Management Commission consisting of Chair and Vice Chair positions selected from the commission members which consist of the Mayors of the corporate cities within Floyd County, a Board of Supervisor member and the Floyd County Sheriff. 

Floyd County EMA is responsible for county emergency planning requirements developed by the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division under Chapter 29C and works in cooperation with the emergency response agencies within Floyd County to develop emergency response planning, response and recovery guidance and serves as the initial contact and liaison for Iowa Homeland Security issues at the state and federal levels.

According to the Iowa Code 29C.10, the Emergency Management Commission shall appoint an Emergency Management Coordinator and delegate their authority in order to fulfill the Commission’s duties as described in the Iowa Code and Administrative Rules. When a disaster or emergency occurs, the emergency management coordinator shall provide coordination and assistance to the governing officials of the municipalities and the county.

Phases of Emergency Management


Foundation of emergency management. Activities designed to reduce or eliminate long-term risk


Ensure that when disaster strikes, emergency personnel are able to provide the best response


Includes actions taken immediately after a disaster occurs


Long-term – return community to “normal”


 Floyd County Emergency Management does NOT provide sandbags to residents. We maintain a nominal inventory of sandbags for protection of critical infrastructure only. Within the Cities of Floyd County, the sandbag policy lies individually with each City jurisdiction. Those residents are encouraged to contact their local City administration or public works office for information regarding the local policy. There are privately owned sandbag distribution companies in Iowa that can be found on the internet.

Commission Members
Community Mayors
Charles City: Dean Andrews 

Colwell: Jeff Wright  
Colwell: Jeff Wright  
Floyd: Trevis O'Connell  
Marble Rock: Jerry Engelhardt 
Nora Springs: Randy Hassman 
Rockford: Scott Johnson  

Rudd: Jeff Buland
Board of Supervisor
Supervisor Linda Tjaden 
Floyd County Sheriff's Department 
Sheriff Jeff Crooks